In the fall of 1946, the Baldwinsville Travelers Club formed a committee to investigate the possibility of establishing a library in the village. The library opened its doors for the first time on January 6, 1948 in two rooms of the Lysander Town Building, formerly a trolley station. The library was open for service three days a week for a total of 201/2 hours with a collection of 1,000 books. As the Baldwinsville community grew so did the need for a larger facility. In 1956 the library moved to a renovated house. In 1974 the library was rechartered as a school district public library. The library then moved into an old Woolworth’s store in 1975. On October 29, 1994 the community gathered at the library with shovels in hand. Commemorative bookmarks and ribbons were tied to the shovels. “Shovels on Parade” proceeded to the site of a new building for the library. Following a few words of greeting, those gathered used their shovels to turn over the dirt. One year to the day, on October 29, 1995, over 2,500 people participated in the Grand Opening of the new library.
In addition to providing informational and recreational materials in a variety of formats the library has an art gallery and a local history room. The art gallery features local professional and amateur artists. The local history collection contains historical and genealogical information about Baldwinsville, Clay, Lysander, and Van Buren. It is continually being enhanced by donations of materials unique to the Baldwinsville Community.
The library board and staff continually assess library services in order to provide community residents with activities which support their pursuit of personal, educational, and professional interests, as well as cultural, recreational, and leisure activities.